The Attribute Builders gem and playground

In my last article, I published about the birth of AttributeBuidlers and since then I've worked some more on the project and decided that it was time to get it out there – even in its unfinished and incomplete form– in hopes that someone will try it out and get as excited as I am about it.

Head on over to https://github.com/pinzonjulian/actionview_attribute_builders and give it a go. I have put up a few examples on how to get started with it using both Material Design Web Components and Shoelace Web Components.

But, who has time these days to go and write a whole new app and install the gem and write a FormBuilder for some web component library only to realise (even though I've said so above) that it's not a complete implementation yet? Well, I've got you covered.

I've built a playground where you can see it in action without having to write any code yourself!

https://attributebuilders.julianpinzon.com

Here you'll be able to see an implementation of the gem and interact with an actual app! It's still missing a bunch of stuff and has a few bugs here and there but as a proof of concept, it should be enough to convey the intention of the project.

I do recommend going through the gem's readme, and maybe some of the code, to understand what's going on.

I also feel like this idea is ready to be pitched to the Rails team so I'll be posting soon at https://discuss.rubyonrails.org so be on the lookout for that if you're interested.

Let me know what you think!